Principal's Message



PRINCIPALLY SPEAKING



Dear Parents,

 

Spring has sprung! April is a full month with computer based AzMERIT testing followed by field week. We thank you for your assistance as we enter AzMERIT testing week, Apr. 2 – 19.

 

Tests are important because they help:

* The teacher evaluate your child's needs and progress.

* The student gauge his or her own level of mastery.

* The parent monitor his or her child's progress.

You can help your child prepare for testing by doing the following:

* Discuss the importance of testing.

* Make sure your child gets a good night's sleep before a test and eats properly the day of a test.

* Maintain a pleasant home environment and avoid unnecessary conflicts.

* Ensure that your child is present during testing. Children perform better when taking tests in their groups rather than at a make-up time.

* If the test is the type that can be reviewed, such as a spelling test, assist your child with practice.

* If your child is disappointed after taking a test, reassure him or her that there will be plenty of opportunities to improve and succeed.

* Wish your child good luck before he or she leaves for school.

Tips to give your child about taking tests:

* Relax. Do the best you can. Your first choice is usually correct.

* Don't change an answer unless you have a good reason to do so.

* Use your scratch paper.

* Be aware of key words such as “all,” “now,” “always,” “never,” “only” and “exactly.”

* Go back into the text to find your answer.

* Watch for negative words like “not,” “no” and “never.”

* Look for information in some of the questions. This information may help you answer other questions.

* Take your time, it is not a race.

 We have closed the campus to volunteers and at lunch during testing. Thank you for your understanding. We look forward to seeing you out on our fields the week of April 24 and 29 for field week!

Sincerely,

Tricia Johnson

Principal

Dates our Campus is closed are:

Tuesday, April 2

Wednesday, April 3

Thursday, April 4

Friday, April 5

Monday, April 8

Tuesday, April 9

Thursday, April 11

Friday, April 12

Monday, April 15

Tuesday, April 16

Thursday, April 18

Friday, April 19


Comments